Things I’m Thankful For

It’s been one week since Thanksgiving, and as we set off again to continue this American leg of our travel adventure, I find myself constantly aware of all the things for which I am thankful.  Every time we leave home I regret not taking more photos of the people we spent time with – but hopefully you’ll know who you are when you read this list.  Thanks everyone for an unforgettable great week at home!

  1. Being home on Thanksgiving for the first time in over ten years.
  2. Good health.
  3. FIVE different Thanksgiving celebrations with five different sets of family and friends.
  4. Nieces who can teach me how to flip against the wall after swimming a lap, AND how to Rip Stick (like a skateboard but even more difficult)!
  5. Vaccinations to protect me from scary diseases.
  6. Wonderful couch surfing hosts all over the US, who’ve given us such enlightenment and entertainment as we’ve traveled, and who’ve become new friends.
  7. Great family and friends to miss each time we’re away, and visit each time we’re back home.
  8. The ability to travel.
  9. New members in my family by marriage, and new members in my “friend family” by birth.
  10. A cute little frog and the family taking care of him while we’re away.
  11. Two quarts of my favorite ice cream in the world!
  12. Meeting up and spending time with friends and family as we travel.
  13. Turkey (and stuffing)!
  14. Catching up with neighbors.
  15. Points and miles.
  16. Christmas decorations and music wherever we go, to remind me of what it feels like to be home this time of year.
  17. Thrift stores (especially to replace all the stuff we forget, and/or lose, as we go).
  18. Eight years of marriage with the best traveling companion I could ever ask for.
  19. Memories.
  20. Future possibilities 🙂
Leave a Reply

